To better serve you, we have carefully outlined a list of frequently asked questions below.
The first day of service is normally limited to jury selection.
Persons who are under 18 years of age;
Persons who are not U.S. citizens (proof of non-citizenship must be submitted)
Persons who served as a juror within one year of their summons date;
Persons presently under prosecution for a crime;
Convicted felons who have not had their civil rights restored;
Deceased persons (death certificate must be submitted)
Persons physically unable to serve (doctor's certificate must be submitted)
Persons responsible for the care of an infirm or disabled family member;
Active, full-time law enforcement officers;
Persons 70 years of age or older;
Parents with a child under 6 years of age, who are not employed full-time.
Jurors wishing to be excused must contact the Clerk of Courts office at 386.362.0500
Call (386) 362-0500 for assistance and have your driver's license ready so the jury management team can locate your summons number and determine where you are to report.
- What happens if I do not report for jury duty?
Jurors who do not report for duty may be held in contempt of Court and/or fined up to $100.00
- Do I get paid by the State for jury duty?
During the first three days of jury duty, payment by the State is as follows:
If your employer continues to pay regular wages while you are serving on jury duty, you will not receive payment.
If you are unemployed, or your employer does not pay regular wages, you will receive $15.00 per day from the State of Florida for the first three days of service.
If jury duty lasts four days or more, all jurors automatically receive $30.00 per day for the fourth day of service and each day thereafter, regardless of employment status.
No. Florida law prohibits any employer from firing an employee who is serving on jury duty.
For more information, please visit our Jury Management page.